top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarla Keen

Who are you/who am I? Thoughts about what we call ourselves in participatory art


There are many ways we could talk about who we are/become/our roles in // SEED. Here are a few possibilities I offer:


Audience

Spectator

Participant

Player

Actor

Co-creator

Co-author

Collaborator

Customer

You (from my point of view)

Me (from your point of view)

Speaker

Receiver



Performer

Producer

Facilitator

Celebrant

Leader

Co-creator

Collaborator

You (from my point of view)

Me (from your point of view)

Speaker

Receiver

What I find intriguing is that most of these can be flipped. At times, I become a spectator or audience, as you tell a story, or take more of the lead. I find the fluctuation and dance between the roles fascinating.


Depending on your reading of the encounter (and views about relational art) these roles are more or less democratic. Are we both equal status or do I always have benevolent high status holding the space?


Is this a conversation or a ritual that I guide? Both of these phrases have been used to describe the encounter - maybe the roles were different in each of the encounters? Maybe I change depending on who I am with.


When we watch 'traditional theatre' these roles tend to be less fluid. You are spectator, I am performer. Though, this doesn't always mean you are passive and I am active.


I would be intrigued to know how you see yourself when you are experiencing //SEED.


31 views0 comments
bottom of page